Connected MLSs

IDX for Northwest (NWMLS)

Web4Realty helps you integrate Northwest (NWMLS) IDX data with your website. Read this quick guide on how to get IDX data onto common website builders like Wordpress, Squarespace, Wix, GoDaddy, and many others.


Key Facts

  • Approximate Membership Size:
    • NWMLS has more than 30,000 members which includes brokers and appraisers throughout the Northwest Region.
  • Top 3-4 Major Counties and Cities Covered:
    • Counties: Key counties might include King County (WA), Multnomah County (OR)Mason County, Cowlitz County, Moses Lake,  Grant County and Ada County (ID)
    • Cities: Major cities covered include Seattle (WA), Portland (OR), Boise (ID), and Spokane (WA), representing significant urban centers in the region.
  • Historical Mergers:
    • The “Northwest” has merged with Mergers with Mason County, Cowlitz County, Moses Lake, and Grant County Associations of Realtors MLS in 1999. The next round of mergers came in 2021 by assimilating with the Walla Walla Association of Realtors MLS, adding Walla Walla and Columbia counties to their service area to strengthen its presence and operational capacity in the northwest region of the United States.
  • Associations Served:
    • Clark County Association of REALTORS®
    • Commercial Association of REALTORS® Oregon & SW Washington
    • Cowlitz County Association of REALTORS®
    • Grays Harbor Association of REALTORS®

Integrating Northwest IDX data

Building IDX websites for Northwest can be really easy or extremely difficult depending (1) how you choose to access the data and (2) whether or not you choose to work with an approved vendor.

Before we jump into the details, let’s start with the basics:

What is an IDX feed?

MLSs are the origin point of data and registered members need to access that data in short intervals of time to populate their websites to attract buyers and sellers. This transfer of data from the MLS to the realtors website is enabled by an IDX feed. 

An IDX feed is important for real estate agents and brokers because it helps them build their authority and brand in the local market and compete against portals like Zillow, Redfin and Trulia.

Why do I need an IDX feed for Northwest?

If you want to create your online presence using your website, an IDX feed for NorthwestMLS is going to be your business’s bloodline. It will help you improve your online experience for clients and prospects, demonstrate your local expertise, generate leads and overall boost your competitive edge in the local market. Moreover, access to IDX feed for NorthwestMLS is a must if you wish to display active or sold listings from NorthwestMLS on your website.

How do I get Northwest listings on my website?

There are two ways to integrate Northwest IDX data with your website:

(1) Get a direct IDX feed from the MLS. The responsibility of obtaining the direct IDX feed is upon you. You are responsible for downloading, maintaining, and managing the data, which can cost you $500-$2,000 per month in making it available on your website. Additionally, there is a list of paperwork and agreements from the NorthwestMLS that you are supposed to complete. Not to forget, a one time setup fee and a monthly recurring fee for accessing the IDX feed is also charged. 

(2) Work with an approved IDX vendor. Vendors such as Web4Realty have direct access to NorthwestMLS IDX data and can provide correct IDX data to approved members of NorthwestMLS. You won’t have to worry about compliance issues, data vendor migrations, hosting fees, or uptime. Some providers, such as Web4Realty, even offer plugins for popular website platforms such as WordPress, Wix, Squarespace, and GoDaddy, allowing you to launch your website in minutes.

Northwest Background

NWMLS was formed in 1984 after the merger of 22 individual MLSs. NWMLS has since  expanded their service area by multiple mergers. This includes mergers with Mason County, Cowlitz County, Moses Lake, and Grant County Associations of Realtors MLSs in 1991. Two decades after that, the MLS had its second round of mergers to assimilate the Walla Walla Association of Realtors MLS, adding Walla Walla and Columbia counties to their service area in 2021. It allowed listings reach a wider audience of potential buyers across a larger geographic area.Additionally, mergers allow NWMLS to offer members access to a broader range of tools, services, and technology. Not to forget that combining resources and streamlining operations can lead to increased efficiency and cost savings for the entity and its members.

What are the top cities served by Northwest?

Northwest cities include Seattle, Portland, Boise, Spokane, Tacoma, Vancouver (Washington), Bend, Olympia, Eugene, Salem, Bellingham, Coeur d’Alene, Missoula, Anchorage, Fairbanks, Juneau, Yakima, Medford, Corvallis, and Walla Walla.

What are the top counties served by Northwest?

Certainly! When referring to the “Northwest” in the United States, it commonly includes parts of the Pacific Northwest and may extend into some areas that are considered to be in the northern part of the Western United States. Here is a list of 20 counties across this broad region, which spans several states including Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and parts of Montana:

King County, Pierce County, Snohomish County, Spokane County, and Whatcom County in Washington; Multnomah County, Lane County, Deschutes County, Marion County, and Clackamas County in Oregon; Ada County, Canyon County, Kootenai County, Bonneville County, and Twin Falls County in Idaho; Missoula County, Yellowstone County, Gallatin County, Flathead County, and Lewis and Clark County in Montana.

Which associations are part of Northwest?

The real estate associations or boards covered by “Northwest” include the Seattle King County REALTORS®, Tacoma-Pierce County Association of REALTORS®, Spokane Association of REALTORS®, Skagit County Board of REALTORS®, Snohomish County-Camano Association of REALTORS®, Whatcom County Association of REALTORS®, Kitsap County Association of REALTORS®, Thurston County REALTORS® Association, North Puget Sound Association of REALTORS®, Clark County Association of REALTORS®, Yakima Association of REALTORS®, Tri-City Association of REALTORS® in Washington, Oregon Association of REALTORS®, Portland Metropolitan Association of REALTORS®, Central Oregon Association of REALTORS®, Eugene Association of REALTORS®, Southern Oregon Association of REALTORS®, and the Willamette Association of REALTORS® in Oregon.

Explore other IDX feeds
Web4Realty makes it easy to integrate IDX data from all major MLSs onto your website
© 2024 Web4Realty. All Rights Reserved.